What are you looking for?


Turkey, Russia expanding tourism cooperation

Turkey, Russia expanding tourism cooperation

Turkey and Russia agreed to provide support to investors engaged in tourism activities in both countries.

Tourism Minister Mehmet Nuri Ersoy and the head of Russia’s Federal Agency for Tourism (Rostourism) Zarina Doguzova signed a plan of joint actions in the field of tourism between the two countries in Ankara.

Ankara and Moscow will encourage the development of cooperation between Turkish and Russian investors, including through meetings with their participation.

The two countries will exchange information on ongoing investment projects in the tourism sector.

The parties will also provide administrative and information support to events aimed at promoting investment projects, as well as investors engaged in tourism activities in the two countries.

As part of the agreement, it is assumed that “the parties will promptly inform each other about emergencies in their countries that threaten the life and health of tourists from two countries (epidemiological, terrorist, transport and other threats)” and “inform each other about incidents involving citizens of two countries staying on the territory of the state of the other side for the purpose of tourism.”

The document also provides that the parties will cooperate with the relevant authorities to protect the rights of tourists in the territory of another participating state and, if necessary, conduct prompt consultations to resolve problems with tourists.

In addition, the parties agreed to strengthen direct contacts in the field of tourism. This concerns the exchange of data between Russian and Turkish tourism administrations, industry structures and businesses, including recommendations for potential partners.

The Joint Action Plan for Tourism will enter into force on 1 January 2022.

The two countries will exchange statistical, analytical and any other publicly available data on issues that will be regulated by governments in the field of tourism.

The parties will also continue cooperation within the framework of the World Tourism Organization (WTO), the Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC), the Organization for Economic Development and Cooperation (OECD).

The document signed yesterday in Ankara covers the period from January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2024.